Atlantico FC captures Dominican Republic title
Atlantico FC players and staff (pictured) celebrate after overcoming CA Pantoja to win the 2017 Liga Dominicana de Fútbol championship on August 27, 2017, in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. (Photo courtesy of Liga Dominicana de Fútbol)

SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic – Atlantico FC captured its first Liga Dominicana de Fútbol title, prevailing over CA Pantoja, 4-3 on penalty kicks, after their 2017 final ended in a 1-1 draw on Sunday at the Estadio Olimpico Felix Sanchez.

It was third time a champion had been crowned in the league, with CA Pantoja (2015) and Barcelona Atletico (2016) capturing the first two crowns.

All the goals were scored in the first half as Leandro Silva (24’) gave Pantoja a 1-0 lead, before Mauro Gomez (45’) leveled for Atlantico.

Ivan Zerda clinched the championship, converting on Atlantico’s fifth penalty attempt, after Nicolas Rebollo knotted the shootout at 3-3.

Cibao FC, the 2017 Caribbean Club Championship champion, finished first in the regular-season standings with 37 points, edging Pantoja – which had the same number of points – by virtue of losing fewer games.