Caribbean Club Championship: Portmore United earns 3rd place on PKs

Action from the Caribbean Club Championship match for third place between Central FC and Portmore United (blue jersey) on May 21, 2017, in Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago. (Photo: CA-Images)

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad & Tobago – Portmore United (Jamaica) outlasted Central FC (Trinidad & Tobago), 5-3 on penalty kicks, to capture the match for third place in the 2017 Caribbean Club Championship (CCC) following a 2-2 draw after extra time on Sunday at Hasely Crawford Stadium.. takes a look at the action:

Trinidad & Tobago
May 14-21, 2017

Match for Third Place

May 21, 2017: Hasely Crawford Stadium – Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
Central FC-Portmore United 2-2 (1-1)
Jason Marcano 5’; Keston George 90’+2 / Damion Binns 32’; Cleon Pryce 77’
Portmore United finishes in third place, 5-3 on penalty kicks

  • Maalique Foster completed Portmore United’s run of five perfect penalty kicks to give his side third place. Sean de Silva’s miss on Central FC’s first attempt proved to be the difference.
  • Central FC scored the match’s first (Jason Marcano 5’) and last (Keston George 90’+2) goals, but it also conceded once in each half.
  • Damion Binns (32’) and Cleon Pryce (77’) netted for Portmore United.
  • Portmore United's Roberto Johnson (114') was ejected after being issued a second yellow card.
  • Both Central FC and Portmore United will play in the 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League.
  • Central FC entered this year’s CCC as the two-time defending champion.
  • Portmore United won the 2005 Caribbean Club Championship title.

Central FC: Akel Clarke; Keston George, Carlos Edwards, Jason Marcano, Sean de Silva, Keron Cummings (Lloyd Bannister 76'), Johan Peltier, Taryk Sampson, Fresnel Simil (Tyrik John 115'), Michael Kedman (Clinton Olagunju 59'), Kaydion Gabriel. Head Coach: Dale Saunders

Portmore United: Kemar Foster; Andre Dyce, Ryan Wellington, Ricardo Morris, Sue-Lae McCalla (Maalique Foster 46'), Javon East (Jermie Lynch 71'), Roberto Johnson, Ewan Grandison, Cleon Pryce (Kemo Gayle 87'), Michael Binns, Damion Binns. Head Coach: Linval Dixon

R: Gianni Ascani (Turks & Caicos Islands); AR1: Kuan Budd (Grenada); AR2: Jade Garcia Salamatin (Aruba); 4th: Ricangel de Leca (Aruba)

0-1 Michael Binns, Portmore United (good)
0-1 Sean de Silva, Central FC (missed)
0-2 Ewan Grandison, Portmore United (good)
1-2 Carlos Edwards, Central FC (good)
1-3 Damion Binns, Portmore United (good)
2-3 Keston George, Central FC (good)
2-4 Jermie Lynch, Portmore United (good)
3-4 Lloyd Bannister, Central FC (good)
3-5 Maalique Foster, Portmore United (good)