CONCACAF Club Competitions: First-ever Finals
Mexico’s Atlante (pictured) celebrates after prevailing over Cruz Azul in the 2008/09 CONCACAF Champions League final. (Photo: Mexsport)

MIAMI – Santos de Guapiles takes a 1-0 lead into the final, second leg of the 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League, when it hosts Olimpia on Thursday at the Estadio Nacional in San Jose, Costa Rica.

One of the Central American sides will become of the fifth team to lift a trophy at the conclusion of an inaugural CONCACAF club competition. takes a look back at the other four events.

1962 -- CONCACAF CHAMPIONS’ CUP (Champion: Guadalajara/Mexico)

The first-ever CONCACAF Champions’ Cup was contested between eight teams from seven countries, with Guadalajara (Mexico) earning the title thanks to a 6-0 aggregate triumph over Comunicaciones (Guatemala).  Salvador Reyes (25’, 57’, 88’) struck for three goals as Chivas won the second leg, 5-0.

Final, First Leg: July 29, 1962 (Estadio Mateo Flores – Guatemala City, Guatemala)

Comunicaciones 0, Guadalajara 1

Final, Second Leg: August 21, 1962 (Estadio Jalisco – Gudalajara, Mexico)

Guadalajara 5, Comunicaciones 0

1992 -- CONCACAF CUP WINNERS CUP (Champion: Atletico Marte/El Salvador)

The first-ever CONCACAF Cup Winners Cup, a competition pitting the national cup winners of member associations, was contested between seven teams from seven countries. Atletico Marte (El Salvador) was crowned the 1991 champion after topping the final-round table with six points, one more than Comunicaciones. The competition crowned three more champions, before it was terminated in 1998.

2001 -- CONCACAF GIANTS CUP (Champion: Club America/Mexico)

The CONCACAF Giants Cup was played for the first and only time in 2001.  The concept behind the event was for the teams with the highest attendances in their domestic leagues to meet in an official competition.  It consisted of 12 clubs from eight member associations.  On the strength of goals by Jesus Mendoza (52’) and Octavio Valdez (70’), Club America defeated D.C. United, 2-0, in the final.

Final: August 5, 2001 (Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum – Los Angeles, California, USA)

D.C. United 0, Club America 2

2008/09 -- CONCACAF CHAMPIONS LEAGUE (Champion: Atlante/Mexico)

At a CONCACAF Executive Committee meeting In November 2007, it was decided that the CONCACAF Champions Cup would end and a new annual event – named the CONCACAF Champions League -- would be introduced.

Atlante hoisted the first trophy thanks to a 2-0 aggregate win over Cruz Azul in the 2008/09final. Fernando Navarro (17') and Christian Bermudez (24’) scored the goals in the first leg.

First Leg: April 22, 2009 (Estadio Azul – Mexico City, Mexico

Cruz Azul 0, Atlante 2

Second Leg: May 12, 2009 (Estadio Andres Quintana Roo – Cancun, Mexico)

Atlante 0, Cruz Azul 0