First-ever Scotiabank CONCACAF League launches Tuesday
The Estadio Rommel Fernandez (pictured) in Panama City, Panama, will be the venue for the inaugural Scotiabank CONCACAF League match on August 1, 2017, when Chorrillo FC hosts Honduras Progreso. (Photo: Mexsport)

MIAMI -- The first edition of the Scotiabank CONCACAF League (SCL) kicks off this week with a pair of Round of 16, first-leg matches in Central America.

On Tuesday, Chorrillo FC (Panama) will host Honduras Progreso (Honduras) in the inaugural match (8:00 p.m. ET) at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez in Panama City, Panama.  Later in the evening (10:00 p.m. ET), Santos de Guapiles (Costa Rica) welcomes San Juan Jabloteh (Trinidad & Tobago) to the Estadio Ricardo Sapriss in Tibas, San Jose, Costa Rica.

Complete Round of 16 schedule below.

As the newest component of the confederation’s expanded club competitions platform, the SCL features top sides from Central America and the Caribbean.  Including the revamped Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions, which will be contested next year, 31 clubs – rather than 24 – will compete internationally.

Four past CONCACAF club champions are in the SCL field: Alajuelense (Costa Rica), Aguila (El Salvador), Alianza (El Salvador), and Olimpia (Honduras).  In a coincidental twist fate, Alajuelense and Olimpia were drawn against each other, making the series arguably the most attractive of opening-round play.

The range of dates for the quarterfinal, first- and second-leg encounters is August 15-17 and August 22-24, respectively.

The two-legged final is slated to be played in October, with the champion earning a ticket to join 15 additional clubs – including those from Canada, Mexico and the United States -- in the revamped Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League next year.

Round of 16 Schedule
* ET (local time) & home team listed first


Tuesday, August 1, 2017
20:00 ET (19:00) Chorrillo FC (PAN) v CD Honduras Progreso (HON)
22:00 ET (20:00) Santos de Guapiles FC (CRC) v San Juan Jabloteh (TRI)

Wednesday, August 2, 2017
20:00 ET (18:00) CD Aguila (SLV) v Real Esteli FC (NCA)
20:00 ET (19:00) Portmore United FC (JAM) v CD Plaza Amador (PAN)
22:00 ET (20:00) Platense FC (HON) v Alianza FC (SLV)

Thursday, August 3, 2017
20:00 ET (18:00) CD Olimpia (HON) v LD Alajuelense (CRC)
20:00 ET (20:00) Central FC (TRI) v Deportivo Arabe Unido (PAN)
22:00 ET (20:00) CD Walter Ferretti (NCA) v Belmopan Bandits (BLZ)


Tuesday, August 8, 2017
20:00 ET (18:00) Real Esteli FC (NCA) v CD Aguila (SLV)
20:00 ET (20:00) San Juan Jabloteh (TRI) v Santos de Guapiles FC (CRC)
22:00 ET (20:00) Alianza FC (SLV) v Platense FC (HON)

Wednesday, August 9, 2017
20:00 ET (19:00) CD Plaza Amador (PAN) v Portmore United FC (JAM)
22:00 ET (20:00) CD Honduras Progreso (HON) v Chorrillo FC (PAN)

Thursday, August 10, 2017
20:00 ET (19:00) Deportivo Arabe Unido (PAN) v Central FC (TRI)
22:00 ET (20:00) Belmopan Bandits (BLZ) v CD Walter Ferretti (NCA)
22:00 ET (20:00) LD Alajuelense (CRC) v CD Olimpia (HON)