FOX Sports Latin America Renews Exclusive Rights for the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League

FOX Sports Latin America secures the exclusive broadcasting of CONCACAF's club competitions platform for five more seasons

MIAMI – CONCACAF and FOX Sports Latin America announced Friday the renewal of the exclusive Latin American broadcasting rights for CONCACAF’s new club competitions platform -- including the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League, for five more years   ̶ from the 2017/18 through the 2021/2022 seasons.

Through this agreement, FOX Sports Latin America secures the exclusive broadcasting rights across all platforms for Mexico and South America, as well as the exclusive Pay TV rights and digital platforms for Central America for the two CONCACAF club tournaments -- the annual Champions League and the newly announced club championship set to take place between August and October of each year, among clubs from Central America and the Caribbean.

“The extension of our relationship with FOX Sports Latin America is clear evidence that the most important club competition of our region is continuing to grow in popularity and prestige,” said CONCACAF President Victor Montagliani. “We thank FOX Sports Latin America for its trust in our confederation and in the rights bidding process, and for its tremendous commitment to further promote the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League.”

"This renewal allows us to continue offering our fans throughout Latin America, the official CONCACAF's club championship for five more years, and reinforces our commitment to work hard everyday in order to continue being the number one sports channel network," said Carlos Martínez, President of FOX Networks Group Latin America."It encourage us to continue innovating, while offering this content throughout our platforms as well as providing the best experience to our fans. We thank President Montagliani and the CONCACAF leadership for believing in our project to continue transmitting one of the most relevant championships for North, Central America and the Caribbean."

Thirty-one clubs from the Confederation will participate in CONCACAF’s expanded club competitions platform, starting with the 2017/18 season. Sixteen clubs from countries across the region, including Canada, Mexico, the United States, Central America and the Caribbean, will compete in the CONCACAF Champions League, to be played between February and May of each year, beginning 2018. Furthermore, beginning August 2017, sixteen Central American and Caribbean clubs will participate in a new annual tournament, ending in October.

The new CONCACAF Champions League will include four teams qualified from Mexico - the champion and runner-up of the Liga MX Clausura and Apertura Tournaments - four qualified clubs from MLS, the overall champion of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, the Canadian Cup and the Caribbean Club Championship, and the winner of the new tournament played the year before each edition of the Champions League. All will compete to represent CONCACAF at FIFA’s Club World Cup.

With this agreement, FOX Sports secures exclusive coverage and special programming opportunities, with comprehensive pre- and post-match analysis by a large team of professionals broadcasting live from the stadium and studio, including Raúl Orvañanos, Santiago Puente, Gustavo Mendoza, Rafael Márquez Lugo, Alberto García Aspe, Alex Aguinaga and Fabián Estay. The deal was reached following an open rights bidding process conducted by the Confederation.