Gignac-led rally gives Tigres draw vs. Guadalajara in Liga MX Clausura final opener

Andre-Pierre Gignac (2nd left) is hugged by Tigres teammate Damian Alvarez after scoring against visiting Guadalajara in the Liga MX Clausura final, first leg on May 25, 2017, in San Nicolas de los Garza, Mexico. (Photo: Andrea Jimenez/Straffon Images)

SAN NICOLAS DE LOS GARZA, Mexico – France international Andre-Pierre Gignac scored twice late to help Tigres rally from a two-goal deficit and draw 2-2 with visiting Guadalajara in the first leg of the 2017 Liga MX Clausura final on Thursday night at the Estadio Universitario. looks at the action:

Final, First Leg

May 25, 2017: Estadio Universitario – San Nicolas de los Garza, Mexico (Att: 41,625)
Tigres-Guadalajara 2-2 (0-2)
Andre-Pierre Gignac 85’, 88’ / Alan Pulido 23’; Rodolfo Pizarro 42’

R: Oscar Macias; AR1: Marcos Quintero; AR2: Jimmy Acosta; 4th: Marco Antonio Ortiz

  • Guadalajara took a 2-0 lead before halftime, but Tigres rallied thanks to a pair of goals by Andre Pierre Gignac in the last five minutes
  • Chivas went ahead 1-0 in the 23rd minute, when Tigres goalkeeper Nahuel Guzman punched a left-sided cross into teammate Luis Advincula. Alan Pulido reacted quickly to the loose, netting with his left foot from three-yards out.
  • Rodolfo Pizarro doubled the visitor’s lead in the 42nd minute, striking from six yards after Guzman parried a Pulido shot directly into his path.
  • Gignac halved the deficit in the 85th minute by rifling in with his left foot from 13 yards while slipping. Damian Alvarez provided the assist with a low cross from the left.
  • Gignac leveled with three minutes remaining in normal time with a brilliant effort. The 31-year-old forward raced to receive a long pass from Luis Alfonso Rodriguez. He rounded goalkeeper Rodolfo Cota, who ventured far off his line. Then, while falling away at the right edge of the box, Gignac somehow snapped off a right-footed shot that glided into the far-side netting.
  • Tigres winning streak ended at six games.
  • Guadalajara’s last three games ended in a draw.
  • Tigres will be looking to become the first back-to-back champion in Mexico since Leon (2013 Apertura; 2014 Clausura).