Guadalajara, Tigres advance to Liga MX Clausura final

Action from the Liga MX Clausura semifinal, second between host Guadalajara and Toluca (white jersey) on May 21, 2017, in Zapopan, Mexico. (Photo: Miguel Gutierrez/Straffon Images)

TIJUANA, Mexico – Defending champion Tigres and Guadalajara will meet in the 2017 Liga MX Clausura final after prevailing in semifinal series against Club Tijuana and Toluca, respectively. looks back at Sunday’s action: 


Semifinals, Second Leg 

May 21, 2017 

Club Tijuana 0, Tigres 2

Javier Aquino 64’; Jurgen Damm 90’+2

Tigres advances to final (agg: 4-0)

  • Top-seeded Club Tijuana’s hopes of overturning a 2-0 deficit from the first leg took a hit in the 50th minute, when Guido Rodriguez was issued a red card.
  • Visiting Tigres took command from there as Javier Aquino opened the scoring in the 64th minute by charging down the left side onto Andre-Pierre Gignac’s deflected pass and finishing from eight-yards out.
  • Jurgen Damm added an insurance goal in the second minute of stoppage time off a neat pass from Gignac.
  • Tigres extended its winning streak to six games with the victory, outscoring opponents 18-2 over that span.
  • Tigres will be looking to become the first back-to-back champion in Mexico since Club Leon (2013 Apertura; 2014 Clausura). 


  • Tigres defender Alberto Acosta: “I think we have known how to face these matches, respecting the opponents, with order and with great players, which has us in another final.”
  • Club Tijuana Head Coach Miguel Herrera: “We did not fulfill the objective of making the final, but we fought toe to toe against a great team.


Guadalajara 1, Toluca 1

Nestor Calderon 30’ / Fernando Uribe 48’ 

Guadalajara advances by virtue of having a better regular-season record (agg: 2-2)

-     Nestor Calderon put Guadalajara ahead 1-0 in the 30th minute, slipping a left-sided free kick from the left just inside the near post.

-     Toluca responded in the 48th minute through Fernando Uribe, who scored his second goal of the semifinal with a powerful right-footed shot from 12-yards out.

-     Guadalajara has won 11 Mexican titles, but none since the 2006 Apertura.

-     Guadalajara will join Tigres, Club America and Club Tijuana as Mexico’s representatives in the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League. 


-     Guadalajara forward Alan Pulido: “The unity that this team has, that characterizes this team -- along with its sacrifice -- I don’t think anyone else has.”

-     Toluca head coach Hernan Cristante: “I feel at peace because more than the personal errors, successes and mistakes, the boys gave everything and they left their hearts on the field.”