Herediano to host Saprissa in Costa Rican Verano final opener

The Estadio Eladio Rosabal Cordero in Heredia will be the venue for the first leg of the Costa Rican Verano final between host Herediano and Saprissa on May 17, 2017. (Photo: Mexsport)

HEREDIA, Costa Rica – The 2017 Costa Rican Verano comes down to a two-legged final between Quadrangular-winner Herediano and regular-season champion Saprissa. takes a look at Wednesday’s first leg at the Estadio Eladio Rosabal Cordero.


- Herediano earned a place in the final by finishing first in the Costa Rican Quadrangular, a double, round-robin competition contested between the top four teams in the regular season. The Florenses posted a 3W-2D-1L record for 11 points, three more than Santos and Saprissa.
- Saprissa captured the regular-season title with a 13W-5D-4L record, topping Herediano by five points.


- Since Costa Rica changed to a short season format (Verano/Invierno) in 2007, Herediano and Saprissa have met in two of the 19 finals, with Saprissa winning both (2007 Invierno, 2014 Invierno).
- In their previous meetings this season -- two in the regular season and two in the Quadrangular -- Saprissa is unbeaten against Herediano in 2017 (2W-2D-0L), including a 1-0 away win in the Quadrangular.


- Herediano and Saprissa are Costa Rica’s most decorated clubs. Herediano has won 25 Primera Division titles, while Saprissa is a 33-time champion.
- Both sides have been regular visitors to the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League. Herediano has played in seven of the nine editions (15W-9D-12L; 59GF, 53GA). Saprissa has made six appearances (16W-8D-14L; 55GF, 53GA).


- Herediano head coach Hernan Medford: “It is a final in which there are no favorites, any of the two can win. Hopefully, we make the 26th title a reality.”
- Saprissa head coach Carlos Watson: “I know that [the fans] are going to be with us on Wednesday and Sunday. It is on us to get back up for Wednesday’s match.”



2017 Costa Rican Verano Results

28.01.17 Herediano 2, Saprissa 2
19.03.17 Saprissa 2, Herediano 0
29.04.17 Saprissa 2, Herediano 2
10.05.17 Herediano 0, Saprissa 1