Miami Beach Draw Produces Matchups for 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Group Stage
Miami (Monday, May 30, 2016) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) conducted this evening the draw for the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League (SCCL) at the Fontainebleau Hotel on Miami Beach, sorting the 24 participating clubs into eight groups of three for the eighth edition of the continental championship in its current format.

Club Pachuca, 2009/10 CCL winners and current Liga MX Champion, was drawn into Group E. 

2015 MLS Champion Portland Timbers will return to this edition of the champions league. They will participate in Group B. 

Caribbean Football Union Club Champions Central FC of Trinidad and Tobago headline Group C. 

CS Herediano, champion of the Costa Rican Summer Tournament will compete in Group G.

The groups will be contested on a round-robin, home-and-away, four-game format, running August – October. Only the eight first-place teams will progress to the quarterfinals, which will kick-off in early 2017.

The full schedule for the group stage will be announced in the coming weeks.
The groups for the 2016/17 CONCACAF Champions League, in order of position drawn, are as follows:
Group A: W Connection (TRI), Honduras Progreso (HON), Pumas (MEX)  
Group B: CD Dragon (SLV), Deportivo Saprissa (CRC), Portland Timbers (USA)
Group C: Central FC (TRI), Vancouver Whitecaps (CAN), Sporting Kansas City (USA)
Group D: Don Bosco FC (HAI), Arabe Unido (PAN), Monterrey (MEX)
Group E: Police United (BLZ), Olimpia (HON), Pachuca (MEX)
Group F: Alianza CF (SLV), Antigua GFC (GUA), New York Red Bulls (USA)
Group G: Plaza Amador (PAN), CS Herediano (CRC), Tigres (MEX) 
Group H: Real Esteli (NIC), CD Suchitepequez (GUA), FC Dallas (USA)