Robinhood making hailed return to Concacaf competition
Suriname's Robinhood meets for a team photo before facing Real Hope of Haiti in the Concacaf League playoffs on May 19, 2019, at the East Stadium in Kingston, Jamaica.

KINGSTON, Jamaica For the first time since 1994, Robinhood will be competing on one of the biggest stages in Concacaf club competition.

The Suriname club punched its ticket to the 2019 Scotiabank Concacaf League thanks to its 3-1 penalty shootout win over Real Hope of Haiti in Sunday’s Concacaf League playoffs following a 1-1 draw between the two sides.

Robinhood’s qualification for the SCL evokes great memories of its performances in past Concacaf club competition.

There was a spell of time when Robinhood was one of the biggest clubs in the region.

Over a 11-year period from 1972 until 1983, the club reached the final of the Concacaf Champions Cup five times, finishing as runner-up each time and with three of those finals separated by just one goal.

While Robinhood also took home six domestic titles in that 11-year span, it was their performances in Concacaf play that impressed the masses.

Their fine play continued into the latter part of the 1980s and into the 1990s, with appearances in the 1986 and 1988 Concacaf Champions Cup, reaching the semifinals in the latter.

That was then followed by berths in the 1990, 1992, 1993 and 1994 Concacaf Champions Cup, including a spirited run to the Final Round of the 1993 edition in which it finished fourth.

Nevertheless, Robinhood’s run to five finals and its near-miss in 1993 is a distinction worthy of a place in Concacaf lore.

And now, 25 years later, a new generation of the club’s players will be looking to write their own history, beginning with this summer’s SCL.



  • SVB Topklasse Champions: (24) last 2018
  • Beker van Suriname Champions: (7) 
  • Suriname President's Cup Champions: (6) 


  • CONCACAF Champions' Cup Runners-up: (5) 1972, 1976, 1977, 1982, 1983
  • CFU Club Championship Runners-up: (1) 2005
  • Caribbean Club Shield Champions: (1) 2019