Toronto FC wins Canadian title, qualifies for 17/18 SCCL

Toronto FC (pictured) celebrates after winning the 2016 Amway Canadian Championship title on June 29, 2016, in Vancouver. (Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer) 

VANCOUVER, Canada – Toronto FC fell 2-1 to the host Vancouver Whitecaps in the second leg of the Amway Canadian Championship on Wednesday, but captured the title on the away-goals rule after the series ended 2-2 on aggregate.

Will Johnson capitalized on a Vancouver defensive error in the fifth minute of second half stoppage-time to score Toronto’s only goal at BC Place, stunning the crowd of 19,376.

After Tsubasa Endoh delivered a ball into the Whitecaps’ box, goalkeeper David Ousted and defender Kendall Waston collided, allowing Johnson to fire into an open net for the series-winning strike.

Vancouver took a 1-0 lead in the 47th minute, when substitute Nicolas Mezquida headed over goalkeeper Alex Bono from 11-yards out off Jordan Harvey’s left-sided cross.

Tim Parker doubled the advantage in the 68th minute, chesting down Matias Laba’s lobbed ball into the box and left-footing past Bono from 10 yards.

The Whitecaps could have netted an insurance goal in the first minute of stoppage time, but Panama international Blas Perez hit the woodwork.

Thanks to its fifth Canadian crown, Toronto FC became the first team to qualify for the 2017/18 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League. 

2016 Amway Canadian Championship – Final, Second Leg

June 29, 2016: BC Place – Vancouver, Canada (A: 19,376)

Vancouver Whitecaps FC-Toronto FC 2-1 (0-0) 2

Nicolas Mezquida 47’; Tim Parker 68’ / Will Johnson 90’+5

Toronto FC wins Amway Canadian Championship on away-goal rule (agg: 2-2) 

Vancouver Whitecaps FC: David Ousted; Tim Parker, Andrew Jacobson, Kendall Waston, Jordan Harvey, Matías Laba, Russell Teibert (Nicolas Mezquida 46’); Christian Bolaños, Pedro Morales, Kekuta Manneh (Alphonso Davies 70’), Erik Hurtado (Blas Perez 83’). Head Coach: Carl Robinson 

Toronto FC: Alex Bono; Nick Hagglund, Eriq Zavaleta, Drew Moor, Justin Morrow, Marco Delgado, Benoit Cheyrou (Tsubasa Endoh 74’), Will Johnson, Jonathan Osorio (Raheem Edwards 86’), Sebastian Giovinco, Molham Babouli (Jordan Hamilton 73’) 


All-Time Champions

  • 2008 – Impact de Montreal
  • 2009 – Toronto FC
  • 2010 – Toronto FC
  • 2011 – Toronto FC
  • 2012 – Toronto FC
  • 2013 – Impact de Montreal
  • 2014 – Impact de Montreal
  • 2015 – Vancouver Whitecaps FC
  • 2016 – Toronto FC